By   28th December 2015

Pillars are very important to construct any building because pillars are actually the base or a foundation that holds the building for long time. If the pillars of any building are weak then there is a fear of falling of building soon but if the pillars are strong than building can stays for long period. Same like that there are 5 pillars in Islam that strongly holds the building of individual’s faith. The Five Pillars of Islam are the five religious responsibilities that are expected by every Muslim to perform with clean soul. These five pillars that are mentioned individually in Quran and they are also found in the Hadith when our Prophet (pbuh) was asked to explain Islam.

5 pillars of islam

5 pillars of islam

The ‘Five Pillars’ of Islam are the base or foundation of every Muslim life that are necessary to follow:

  • Shahadat, acceptance and commitment.
  • Namaz, Daily prayers.
  • Zakaat, Paying alms tax to the needy.
  • Roza that is the Self-purification.
  • Hajj, The pilgrimage to Mecca for the people who are able to perform.

Shahadat, acceptance and commitment:

Shahadat is the first and the most important pillar of islam. Shahada shows the Muslim faith towards the religion and ALLAH, expression that make one a Muslim is:
لَا إِلٰهَ إِلَّا الله مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُولُ الله
Translation: There is no god but God and Muhammad is the prophet of God.
This is the declaration of one’s called Shahadah. The importance of this declaration is the trust that the only reason of one’s life is to serve and obey ALLAH; we can achieve this through the teachings and practices given by our Last Prophet (pbuh).

Namaz, Daily prayers:

The second pillar of Islam is called Namaz or Salat, daily Muslim prayer. Namaz is obligatory to perform five times a day by every Muslim i.e. Fajr, Zuhar, Asar, Maghrib and Isha. All the namaz are performed toward the direction of KAABA. Namaz is a direct link between the ALLAH and worshippers used. Praying namaz five times a day is very important for all Muslims to perform because it’s commandment of ALLAH and Muslims will earn reward by worshipping.

Zakaat, Paying alms tax to the needy:

Zakaat is the central pillar of Islam it is an important principle of Islam. It’s a Muslim’s belief that everything belongs to ALLAH. Zakat means growth and purification. Zakaat is all about setting aside a particular proportion that is mentioned in Islam for those who are in need and it’s also for the growth of the society. Zakat is a charitable and religious tax in Islam that is obligatory upon all those Muslims to pay who can afford. Zakat, is consist of 2.5 percent of individual’s net worth, value of property and savings are taken into consideration.

Roza, that is the Self-purification:

Every year in the month of Ramazan Muslims fasts for a whole day from Fajr to maghrib, without eating and drinking anything for the sake of ALLAH. All Muslims, according to the commands given by ALLAH fasts for getting his pleasure, roza is not just avoiding food and drinks whole day but it’s about avoiding all the bad things and habits and making our selves internally clean with all negatives thinking and deeds, roza teaches us that we are not slave of our habits but we are ALLAH’s servant.

Hajj, The pilgrimage to Mecca for the people who are able to perform:

Hajj is the last pillar of islam and it is obligatory for all Muslims to perform at least once in their lives if they have enough money to perform. Hajj is holy journey to Mecca. Thousands of people from all around the worlds comes to Makkah and Madinah In order to perform hajj.

For UK bast Hajj, Umrah and Umrah visa packages contact Rehman Tours



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *